THE TOP-10 CHARACTERISTICS OF LOUSY LEADERS

If you look at the major news stories in
business, politics, diplomacy, whatever, it’s pretty hard to miss that most of the crises we face are crises of leadership.

I once worked for a man who couldn’t pull the trigger on a project, ever. I would bring him a request with all the supporting documentation. He would ask me to rerun it. When I came back, he would want it rerun again, and again.

It was like an endless doom loop of
frustration. I could never get him off the dime. By the time he approved it, the opportunity was lost, and he would blame me for missing it. It was utterly dispiriting.
I’ve worked for a few spectacularly bad
bosses in my time. And as a corporate
executive I’ve had others equally bad
occasionally working for me.

Maybe it’s no surprise, but whether it’s those leaders in my immediate experience or the ones I read about in the news, I see the same failures and mistakes over and over, and each one has a direct impact on getting the results we want.

I’ve arranged them here as the top-ten characteristics of lousy leaders. These are all traits to avoid—or unlearn if you already have trouble with them:

  1. They don’t have enough
    confidence to lead at their level.
    The boss I mentioned at the start was
    like this. He couldn’t decide because
    he had no faith in his decisions.

  2. They’re arrogant, assuming they
    always know what’s best. It takes
    confidence to lead. It also takes
    humility. Many leaders think they’re
    confident when they’re really just
    pigheaded and proud.

  3. They’re disorganized. I’ve worked
    with some hard-driving, capable
    leaders who hamstrung themselves
    by never getting organized. I reported
    to one leader like this, right up until I was promoted above him. The first
    thing I did was fire him.

  4. Their words and actions erode
    trust, even with their supporters.
    When I fired the boss I just
    mentioned, this is the primary reason
    for my decision. I could never count
    on him as his direct report. I certainly
    didn’t want him reporting to me.

  5. They over-promise and under-
    deliver. This one affects more than
    just politicians. People leading up in
    an organization often do this this
    because they are trying to impress
    those above them, failing to realize
    that by under-delivering they are
    shooting themselves in the foot. And
    people at the top fall into the trap by
    over-using promises as a way to
    ensure team loyalty.

  6. They don’t articulate a clear
    vision. No one wants to follow in the
    dark. It’s impossible to motivate
    people who feel in a fog.

  7. They don’t enroll others in their
    initiatives. No. 7 is related to No. 6.
    Some leaders just expect people will
    follow them just because of their
    position. Wrong. If a leader can’t
    enroll others, failure looms.

  8. They’re not transparent. Openness
    encourages honesty. How often do
    we see the opposite playing out in
    business and politics? Scandal is only
    the endgame. But how many bad
    calls are made before the news
    finally breaks?

  9. They’re blind to what’s happening
    in their own organizations.
    Insulation is fine for the walls of your
    house, but not for leadership. To lead
    requires visibility. Without it, you’ll
    find yourself blindsided and making
    major blunders.

  10. They don’t hold people
    accountable—especially
    themselves. If a leader avoids
    responsibility and won’t hold their
    team accountable, they’ll shipwreck
    the organization. Accountability is
    essential.

Pick your crisis and you’ll usually find one of these ten traits of lousy leadership in action, often many of them all at once. Bad leadership traits go together.

Source: Michael Hyatt

Posted on November 21, 2014, in Business. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment